Sentiments, Head nods, and a convertible top that’s Always down.

by josephcox91

 

 

Image

 

 

Time for some more self disclosure. 

I drive a Honda s2000.  It’s a convertible and there’s a saying and trend that goes along with having an s2000, in the s2000 community; top always down.  This was convenient for me because it enabled me to hide the real reason I always have me top down in my car; even in single digit degree weather.  We will get back to this.

Back in 2002 my father bought me a little Honda S2000 R/C car.  It was an NFR (New Formula Red) s2000 and I was in love with it.  I remember I raced it around my kitchen floor, running into things and laughing like any little kid would.  I had hundreds of Matchbox cars from my dad, but I preferred to play with the s2000 because it was an R/C and red and I got it for my birthday.  The love I shared for that little car would continue until this day.  That R/C car is a cherished sentiment to me still because it reminds me of my childhood and the utter joy and bliss I felt while driving that little car around the kitchen with both my parents watching.   

To further fuel my liking of convertibles, my grandmother, on my fathers’ side, had ALWAYS wanted a convertible.  She finally purchased a Chrysler Seibring convertible in the early 2000′s.  Unfortunately, she passed away very shortly after obtaining the car.  I remember talking to my dad and being told that she only had driven the car with the top down once or twice, but she wanted to be able to say she owned a convertible in her life.  I suppose it really is the little things in life- the joy of having a car and it being a convertible and having the top down even if it’s just once.  I’ve always looked up to my father and his family for working their asses off to get to the financial stability they are at today.  It was good to see her reward herself and enjoy that car.  So, as a head nod to my grandmother, I knew I had to obtain a convertible one day in hopes of feeling that top down experience that made her smile so big; even if for only one day.  

Back to why I always have my top down.  This is a very little, if not completely, unknown fact about why I drive with my top down in ridiculously cold or rainy conditions, or even why I chose the S2000 over a MUCH better deal on a Subaru WRX STI (if any of my car friends are reading this they will surely ask -”Wait seriously?” and the answer is, yes, seriously because of what I’m about to tell you.)  I like to think of myself as someone who takes family, sentiments, and “spiritual” feelings to heart and seriously.  2013 was an unfortunate year for me in that I lost my last grandparent, my Grandmother, my Aunt, and my Mother all within two months of each other.  With no disrespect to them, my father came to my brother and I, a couple months later, and explained that we could look into trading in our old cars for new- old cars.  I looked around a little and came across a beautiful, low mile WRX STI and a low mile, s2000.  Now, before anyone hash tags this post as #FirstWorldProblems blah blah blah, I have to make it CLEAR that my family would give up all of our cars, house, and possessions to have our family whole again.  It really erks me when people say, “man you’re so lucky.”   I am grateful and blessed for everything in my life from day one when my parents saved me from poverty in Peru.  

So. I had a choice to make and although the practicality was all to the WRX, it only took me about a minute to decide on the s2k.  

The reason I got the s2000, the reason I chose an under-powered 2 seater in comparison to the WRX, and the reason I always put my top down is really simple.  The sentiment I hold for the R/C S2000 has carried into the car I now own.  Every time I look at it or drive it, I think of that bliss and beauty that life was when I was little with my parents and that little toy.  Life was simple and beautiful.  It’s a head nod to my grandmother who through her action of getting a convertible and only driving it with the top down once, showed me no matter how hard work is, or how hard life can be, there are little things in life to smile about and to lose yourself in and we should take advantage of every second of those moments.  

And finally, driving with the top down isn’t to get attention, or look crazy cool, it’s because I like to believe it helps me be just a little bit closer to my mother while I’m doing something I really enjoy; driving.  It’s something that warms my heart and bring tears to my eyes and a smile to my face because she always wanted me to just be happy in life.  Driving that car is much more than driving a convertible sports car.  It’s something that brings me peace, strength, and helps me to remember my roots.  

Remember your roots, and give of yourself and you time because those are the things that matter, and those are the things that endure.